Tack n' Talk

Online Equestrian Resource

Hello Weekend!

Another week has gone past – hope you all had fun in the sun!!

Previously on Tack n’ Talk, we discussed how riding to music could be both beneficial for your riding, as well as enjoyable! But, how can you listen to music if you don’t have speakers in your arena?

Personally, I don’t like earbuds as that cuts out noise of the surrounding environment.  This external noise is important while riding a horse.  Not only should the rider be aware of what may cause the horse alarm from their surroundings,  the rider should be aware of the sound horse’s footfalls and breathing, which are important for establishing connection and rhythm, as well as safety.

I love riding in my Tunes To Go Saddle Pad – it comes with two speakers, and a place to carry an mp3 player (or any other music source!) I would recommend not using a CD player in this saddle pad.  The jarring around from the horse’s movement could wreck the mechanics of it.  However, mp3 players work wonderfully!

tunes_to_go

Another option would be to try out the Sound Box Waist Bag – its a fanny pack speaker system!

fanny pack speakers

If these options don’t appeal to you, I would recommend getting a pair of SafeSound Sports Personal Speakers.  They are little speakers that clip on to your clothing next to your ears (on collar).  They are extremely affordable, lightweight, and from my experience, quite durable.  Plus, you can use these when your not riding, which you can’t do with options like the Tunes To Go Saddle Pad.

safesound sports

I hope this gives you ideas of how you can listen to music while you ride, while still maintaining awareness of the outside environment.  I would love to hear your own experiences with riding to music, and what equipment and technology you use while you ride!

Have fun, and happy riding!

– Larissa


1 Comment»

  e3w7yg wrote @

Those Safesound Sports Personal Speakers would be great. Here’s my most memorable experience: At one point all I had was a Fisher boom box with really powerful speakers, on a table just outside my outdoor ring. And a friend, Debra, to give feedback on how my dressage freestyle looked to her. Things were going fine. In the middle of it all, doing a canter circle and carried away by a particularly stirring section of music, I thought, “Oh! Why don’t we just reverse, right here! That will be great.” I gave Hap the cue.
Debra yelled, “No! You’ll dump him!” With no hesitation and no break in stride, my training level horse did a flying change, reversed and performed a fine circle. We finished the ride as we had been practicing it. I never did a thing like that to him again.


Leave a Reply

